Wednesday, October 13, 2010

ASC Lifetime Achievement Award

Masterful cinematography Roger Deakins will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from next years American Society of Cinematographers.  This great photographer\poet has been nominated 8 times for the best cinematography Oscar:

  • The Reader (2008)
  • The Assassination of Jesse James (2007)
  • No Country for Old Men (2007)
  • The Man Who Wasn't There (2001)
  • O' Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)
  • Kundun (1997)
  • Fargo (1996)
  • The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
Ridiculously, he's never won, however the ASC guild did honor him, rightfully so, for the beautiful black and white photography he worked ever so majestically for The Man Who Wasn't There (2001), directed by Ethan and Joel Coen.  Most famous for his collaborations with the Coen Brothers (for which he's lensed each of their films since Barton Fink, 1990), Deakins also memorably is responsible for the impeccable photography in films as varied as Dead Man Walking, The Hurricane, A Beautiful Mind, House of Sand & Fog, Jarhead, Doubt and Revolutionary Road.  His next gig will be the Coen's True Grit.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

great post thanks

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...