Thursday, January 9, 2014

USC Scripter Award Nominations

Sort of a precursor for the Best Adapted Screenplay category, but not completely, the USC Scripter Award honor screenplays based on previously existing material.  But with a text.  They honor both the author of the screenplay as well as the author of the original source.  This years nominees were selected from a panel that consisted of Michael Chabon, Geoffrey Fletcher, Callie Khouri, Michael Ondaatje, Leonard Maltin, Kenneth Turan and Steven Zailian.

What Maisie Knew

The nominees are:

  • 12 Years a Slave- written by John Ridley; adapted from the autobiography by Solomon Northup
  • Captain Phillips- written by Billy Ray; adapted from the non-fiction A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates , Navy SEALs and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips and Stephen Talty
  • Philomena- written by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope; adapted from the non-fiction The Lost Child of Philomena Lee by Martin Sixsmith
  • The Spectacular Now- written by Scott Nuestadter & Michael H. Weber; adapted from the novel by Tim Tharp
  • What Maisie Knew- written by Carroll Cartwright & Nancy Doyne; adapted from the novel by Henry James

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...