Tuesday, January 4, 2011

Writer's Guild Award Nominations

  • Black Swan- Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John MacLauglin
  • The Fighter- Scott Silver, Paul Tamasy, Eric Johnson, Keith Dorrington
  • Inception- Christopher Nolan
  • The Kids Are All Right- Lisa Cholodenko, Stuart Blumberg
  • Please Give- Nicole Holofcener

 ineligible: The King's Speech, Another Year, Blue Valentine, Biutiful

The delightful and totally awardable Please Give was the beneficiary of all the ineligible products, I'd expect that and possibly Black Swan to be snubbed by Oscar in favor of The King's Speech and Another Year.

  • 127 Hours- Danny Boyle, Simon Beaufoy
  • I Love You, Phillip Morris- John Requa, Glenn Ficarra
  • The Social Network- Aaron Sorkin
  • The Town- Peter Craig, Ben Affleck, Aaron Stockard
  • True Grit- Ethan Coen, Joel Coen

ineligible: Winter's Bone, Toy Story 3, The Ghost Writer, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
snubbed: Rabbit Hole, which is getting an unfair break these days; the film is good folks!

I Love You, Phillip Morris is the only Oh-My-God! surprise from the WGA, but it's wacky inclusion will not be taken seriously by the Academy what with the dense crop of films ineligible this year.

  • Enemies of the People- Rob Lemkin, Thet Sambath
  • Freedom Riders- Stanley Nelson
  • GasLand- Josh Fox
  • Inside Job- Charles Ferguson, Chad Beck
  • The Two Escobars- Michael Zimbalist, Jeff Zimbalist
  • Who is Harry Nilsson (and Why is Everyone Talking About Him?)- John Scheinfeld
snubbed: Waiting for 'Superman,' Exit Through the Gift Shop, The Tillman Story, Restrepo

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...